Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2007 » New Mid-Height Condo or Apartment complex?? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Jdkeepsmiling
Username: Jdkeepsmiling

Post Number: 247
Posted on Friday, April 06, 2007 - 4:32 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

It seems to me, and I know that I am no expert, that the time is right for a decent sized luxury apartment complex downtown. I remember reading somewhere on this forum that the market for apartments in Downtown is very good with rising rents and a very good occupancy rate. Given the recent success of the BC and Griswold, are we ripe for a nice 10-20 story luxury apartment or condo building? I know that the Riverfront Apartments fill that need, but what about something more integrated into downtown. Anyone have any idea for sites? I know that if the Hudson's block is ever developed it will probably include what I am talking about. Does anyone here agree with me or disagree? Anyone with info on apartment occupancy rates?

Thanks,

JD

(Message edited by jdkeepsmiling on April 06, 2007)

Milwaukee
Username: Milwaukee

Post Number: 1174
Posted on Friday, April 06, 2007 - 5:03 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

It's a nice thought, you just have to wait for demand to grow. As demand grows, you'll see some bigger projects proposed.

I feel it is better to fill in a couple vacant lots or renovate a couple old buildings rather than filling in one little space with a high rise.

When the market demands a high rise, there will be a company there ready to build it.

Mackinaw
Username: Mackinaw

Post Number: 2651
Posted on Friday, April 06, 2007 - 5:04 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I agree. I say wait 5-10 years, and then build something substantial (I mean 20+ stories at least) on the Monroe Block.