Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2007 » Artists in Detroit « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Nyburgher
Username: Nyburgher

Post Number: 99
Posted on Sunday, March 11, 2007 - 1:31 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

OK, so after bugging everyone here. I will try to tell people why I am interested in places like Detroit.

I was an artist in NY and even though I eventually ended up selling enough work to make 35,000 in a good year- I could never seem to make enough to own a nice big studio space or even rent one with any security.

I was wondering if Detroit has made any attempts to convert old factories or warehouses into artist live work spaces or if anyone else in town has. The one stereotype about artists is mostly true. We are broke and always interested in cheap places where we might be wanted.

Any help would be appreciated. I am now fairly rooted in Pittsburgh where i have started an art gallery. But, i am always interested in what is going on.

Charlottepaul
Username: Charlottepaul

Post Number: 666
Posted on Sunday, March 11, 2007 - 1:41 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I don't know that the city government itself ever has done so. What does make Detroit a great place for artists however, is that there are plenty of places like what you mentioned. Great big old warehouses that can basically be converted into any use. Unfortunately (as you probably know) once the yuppie-trendy folks find these places too, the rent can go up and drive out the artists. This has happened many times over in Detroit.

Bulletmagnet
Username: Bulletmagnet

Post Number: 103
Posted on Sunday, March 11, 2007 - 2:58 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)