Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2007 » Orange metal streetscape? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Leslied
Username: Leslied

Post Number: 1
Posted on Sunday, April 29, 2007 - 1:08 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am new to this board, I think it is amazing. I am a teacher on the Westside and I am obsessed with how Detroit once was. Once, driving to Mumford High, I passed some metal orange structures on the side of the road, near what I think was a shopping area. It seemed abandoned now. I don't remember what street I was on, just I was near Mumford. Does anyone know what these are or were?
Thanks

Kimistree
Username: Kimistree

Post Number: 46
Posted on Sunday, April 29, 2007 - 1:47 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If you are talking about the orange metal structures that had street names on them at the corner of Wyoming and Curtis then that was the cities attempt to beautify the area.

There are also orange metal structures that were put up in front of what was Sugar and Spice a day care center between Curtis and Thatcher on Wyoming,they used to have metal children that hung from them and looked like they were playing and doing pull-ups.

Lowell
Board Administrator
Username: Lowell

Post Number: 3838
Posted on Sunday, April 29, 2007 - 2:58 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I remember these. They have been around for a while. The picture I took of the old Sidra recording studio, taken in 2002, shows them.

Sidra Recording Detroit

The Sidra Story

Bulletmagnet
Username: Bulletmagnet

Post Number: 359
Posted on Sunday, April 29, 2007 - 5:22 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Welcome Leslied. I drove through that block just this morning, and it still looks just like Lowells photo from 2002. Thanks for the linkage Lowell, it is an interesting and little known bit of our local music history.

Leslied
Username: Leslied