Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2007 » Design and The American Hot Rod!! « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Ajw
Username: Ajw

Post Number: 1
Posted on Monday, April 23, 2007 - 10:14 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello all, first post here and an obvious newcomer to the forums. I have lived in Detroit for 4 years now, I go to CCS and I am studying Industrial Design.

If anyone is around midtown Wednesday afternoon, I'd highly recommend you stop by the CCS campus. We have organized a showing of 3 historic area Hot Rods (and their owners) and we are showcasing their often overlooked importance to vehicle stying and overall American culture. Embracing the hot-rod as an art form, so to speak.

The event is held by the Hot Rods of Dearborn organization (me and Tom Khur organized the event on a whim nearly 2 months ago). It starts at 10am and runs until 2pm. They are driving the cars here themselves so I'd hate for them to not have a crowd!

If anyone loves area Rods and the people behind the rolling sculptures, come or contact me if you need directions or more information!

-Abe Waugh

(Message edited by ajw on April 23, 2007)

56packman
Username: 56packman

Post Number: 1246
Posted on Monday, April 23, 2007 - 10:19 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Welcome aboard Abe, great to have another motor head on the forum. I take it from your description that these are old-school (50's-60's) style rods based on 30's cars? Those are my favorites. I'm not much for the "pussy rods" they make today with a crate SBC, power seats,windows,antenna,A/C, 1kw stereo.
Why not just buy a Plymouth Prowler?

Ajw

Post Number: 2
Posted on Monday, April 23, 2007 - 10:50 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

These are all hot rods built by the originators! These are THE people that started rodding in southeastern Michigan. The three cars are as follows: