Discuss Detroit » Archives - Connections II » Found this on Craigslist. (Lost items) « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Johnnny5
Username: Johnnny5

Post Number: 469
Posted on Sunday, April 08, 2007 - 10:45 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Expandable file binders, red and blue, containing students' poetry
Reply to: comm-308373836@craigslist.org
Date: 2007-04-08, 8:16PM EDT

Hi. My car was broken into Friday in Detroit near the Magic Stick, and several items were taken. The item most upsetting and irreplacable is a pair of expandable binders (shiny thick paper type), velcro closure, one blue and one red. I'm a poetry teacher, and the files contain the original poetry of my elementary and middle school students at Randolph School in Chicago (one binder was nearly empty, but the other had large stacks of handwritten student poetry). I'm just devestated to have lost this material, that we have been collecting since the fall. If you have any information, please contact me by phone or e-mail: 773-780-1847. Thank you.

Detroitteacher
Username: Detroitteacher

Post Number: 998
Posted on Monday, April 09, 2007 - 6:46 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

That is pretty sad. I hope he gets his students' work back, although it probably ended up in a dumpster somewhere. Thieves might have thought the folder contained old bills, hoping to get some credit card numbers and when it was just a folder of poetry, they ditched it.

Stephenvb
Username: Stephenvb

Post Number: 24
Posted on Monday, April 09, 2007 - 11:21 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My girlfriend had her car broken into at Ann Arbor and her job related social work files and job search materials/resumes were stolen.