Discuss Detroit » Archives - Connections II » Cost of Architectural renderings ? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Darwinism
Username: Darwinism

Post Number: 567
Posted on Saturday, November 04, 2006 - 7:25 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

There are a number of people here in the architectural line of work. Can anybody give me an idea about the cost of architectural renderings as seen on the website below ?

http://www.howardrenderings.co m/home-builders/index.html

Detroitplanner
Username: Detroitplanner

Post Number: 327
Posted on Sunday, November 05, 2006 - 8:40 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

as a former architecture student, I can tell you that a rendering such as those would take hours of work each. You would need to provide the illustrator with a complete set of plans so he can tell how high to make the floors or whare roof overhangs need additional shading.

In short it is not a cheap biz. Computer generated ones are cheaper, but you get what you pay for.

Darwinism

Post Number: 568
Posted on Sunday, November 05, 2006 - 10:20 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any idea how much would a hand-drawn sketch going to be for a house, for example ? $30/hr ? $50/hr ? Or is it a flat rate for each structure/building ?

(Message edited by darwinism on November 05, 2006)

Detroitplanner
Username: Detroitplanner

Post Number: 329
Posted on Sunday, November 05, 2006 - 10:41 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If you want a sketch of an existing house thats another thing all together. You should probably check with some students at CCS or WSU art departments. You might be able to get something pretty good for a lower cost.