Discuss Detroit » Archives - Connections II » Torn tendon surgury? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Pgn421
Username: Pgn421

Post Number: 431
Posted on Wednesday, February 20, 2008 - 6:36 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

anyone had torn tendon shoulder surgury? How much pain is there?

Crystal
Username: Crystal

Post Number: 110
Posted on Wednesday, February 20, 2008 - 8:50 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am no expert. But many in my family have had shoulder surgeries, tendon surgeries, ligament surgeries, and orthopedic surgeries.

What I can say with confidence is:

1. The shoulder is a complicated joint. Choose a really, really good surgeon.

2. There will be pain, and do not skimp on pain meds. A week or two of Oxycontin and/or Vicodin will not be a problem for most people.

3. Do your physical therapy exercises at home. Do what you are instructed, as often as you are instructed. No cheating! The result could be lifelong stiffness.

Pgn421

Post Number: 434
Posted on Wednesday, February 20, 2008 - 8:56 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks Crystal

Crystal

Post Number: 112
Posted on Wednesday, February 20, 2008 - 9:56 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I cannot overstate how important it is to control pain. I know four or five people who were determined to "tough it out" and take as little pain medication as possible. The result was too much pain to do the physical therapy adequately, and the result of that was the aforementioned stiffness.

Abuse of prescription painkillers is in the news all the time, and I'm sure it is as big a problem as they say. Legitimate use of painkillers, even narcotics, is not a sign of weakness.

My apologies for preaching. It's just that I have seen the negative, sometimes long term effects of undertreated pain.

Mayor_sekou
Username: Mayor_sekou

Post Number: 1897