Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning July 2006 » Immigrants & Satellite Dishes « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Lowell
Board Administrator
Username: Lowell

Post Number: 3274
Posted on Thursday, November 09, 2006 - 7:59 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have noticed a greater preponderance of satellite dishes in new immigrant neighborhoods such as in SW Detroit, Detroit E of Hamtramck and areas of Dearborn. I am guessing that choices for receiving programming in Spanish, Arabic and other languages is better provided via satellite vs. cable. Right or Wrong?

Here is an example, the lovely Barbara Apartments in the Latino neighborhood at 512 West Grand Blvd. near Vernor.
Barbara apts. Detroit

Barbara apts. Detroit

Username: 1953

Post Number: 1107
Posted on Thursday, November 09, 2006 - 8:01 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

As a Hamtramck resident, I second your assertion.

Bussey
Username: Bussey

Post Number: 319
Posted on Thursday, November 09, 2006 - 8:05 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i think it isnt an immigrant thing as it is an apartment thing. In most non-immigrant areas you have the dishes in a less dense arrangement and also on rooftops.

My Woodbridge Condo association has Direct TV and not the Monopolistic ComAss yet we have our dishes on or roof so they are out of sight. This is just a matter of either no roof top access or lazy Direct TV installers.

(Message edited by bussey on November 09, 2006)

A_franklins_son
Username: A_franklins_son

Post Number: 52
Posted on Thursday, November 09, 2006 - 8:12 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The Burger King is looking out of one of the windows.

Gannon
Username: Gannon

Post Number: 7102
Posted on Thursday, November 09, 2006 - 8:29 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)