Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning July 2006 » City property taxes question. « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Billpdx
Username: Billpdx

Post Number: 16
Posted on Sunday, October 29, 2006 - 8:38 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm going to look at some homes for sale at the end of the week in Detroit. Can some explain to me what this NEZ tax break is all about?

Does this mean I wouldn't necessarily have to pay 10-12k per year on property taxes (certainly a deal-breaker) on anything I might buy?

Itsjeff
Username: Itsjeff

Post Number: 7045
Posted on Sunday, October 29, 2006 - 8:47 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

NDavies knows this stuff really well. If he doesn't post here in a few days, I'll ping him for you.

Barnesfoto
Username: Barnesfoto

Post Number: 2666
Posted on Sunday, October 29, 2006 - 9:42 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm no tax expert, but my experience is this: in certain areas you can file an NEZ to keep a property at the pre-rehab tax level.
Let's say you buy a wreck of a house like I did.
The taxable value is 12k. You put lots of money and work into the place and one day you're done and it's worth lots more than it was when you started. But if you have filed the paperwork and pulled all your permits, your tax level is capped at the old level.
What this means for you, I think, is that you need to buy a new/rehabbed property that qualifies for NEZ, or buy a ruin that qualifies for NEZ.
Bagley Housing Association is one of the many orgs that has a number of properties available, some are new construction, others are rehabs.
There's lot more to it than what I know, but that's my two cents.

Gildas
Username: Gildas

Post Number: 870
Posted on Sunday, October 29, 2006 - 9:52 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)