Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning July 2006 » Michigan Central Depot Souvenirs « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Krawlspace
Username: Krawlspace

Post Number: 262
Posted From: 69.246.59.170
Posted on Monday, July 03, 2006 - 4:47 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have been collecting Detroit memorabilia for about 15 years now, and during that time I have acquired several items I assume to be souvenirs from the MCD gift shop. What interests me is the fact that they all carry the identical image of the depot somewhere on them. Some of the items are useful like the paperweight or sewing kit and others are downright hokey like the ship's wheel or change purse. I also have found several variants of cups and saucers, with slightly different designs and one "bullet" pencil. I know there is also a thermometer, but I am not in possession of one.

I am curious if anyone has any of these or similar items, or if anyone can shed any light as to their history.

Binoculars

Bottle Openers

Glass "Beer Bottle" S&P Shakers

Plastic S&P Shakers

Glass Paperweight

Pocket Mirror (on reverse side)

Sewing Kit

Glass Ashtray

Pin Cushion

S&P Shakers with "Nautical" Themed Stand

Tape Measures

Glass Ashtrays

Glass & Plastic Ashtray

Change Purse (my personal favorite)

Letter Opener & Ruler

Small Plate

"Bullet" Pencils (top one has the repeated image)

Plates and a cup with slightly different designs

Dougw
Username: Dougw

Post Number: 1216
Posted From: 136.1.1.101
Posted on Monday, July 03, 2006 - 4:57 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cool! The only MCS souvenir we have is a lousy postcard. (although I think the postcard may be the same image as these items)

E_hemingway
Username: E_hemingway

Post Number: 810
Posted From: 69.242.215.8
Posted on Monday, July 03, 2006 - 5:37 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)