Discuss Detroit » Hall of Fame Threads » Memories of Renaissance High School « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Durango
Username: Durango

Post Number: 46
Posted on Sunday, December 09, 2007 - 11:05 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The memories and stories that the graduates of Denby and Mackenzie have been great to read. Both schools have a rich history in Detroit. Since 1978, Renaissance has provided Detroit students with a quality college preparatory curriculum. I was a 1986 graduate and I eventually left Detroit to pursue my college education. In the past few years I have reacquainted myself with a few of my former teachers like my Physics teacher Mr. Hudson and I have bumped into a few former classmates who have relocated in other parts of the country. A few of my former teachers like Mr. Payne and Ms. Dinwiddie have been mentioned in other treads. Are there any others who remember the rotating class schedule, the competition for grades, the good and difficult teachers, and going to a public school that truly served the city that focused on getting kids ready for college?

Foxyscholar
Username: Foxyscholar

Post Number: 1
Posted on Monday, December 10, 2007 - 6:42 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I've lurked this forum for YEARS but this is the winning thread to bring me out of lurkdom!

I'm a 1987 Renaissance grad (yes, we did have a three-day 20-year reunion).

I'm in my graduate program in educational leadership now and I am more grateful for my high school and the college preparatory curriculum, which included talking to students about going to college and walking us through the processes.... That was almost more important than the course work.

Durango

Post Number: 47
Posted on Monday, December 10, 2007 - 9:27 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Foxyscholar,