Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2006 » KK to reinstate residency requirements at request of CC « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Bvos
Username: Bvos

Post Number: 1401
Posted From: 75.10.25.142
Posted on Wednesday, April 19, 2006 - 2:05 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

It appears that KK is about to reinstate the residency requirement for his appointees only. As a Detroit resident, I welcome this. If you don't believe in this city enough to live in it, then don't work here. You obviously don't have much faith in your own abilities.

In the article, Collins plays the race card again for no apparent reason other than to blow some hot air and keep herself from floating away. When do we get to unelect her again?

http://detnews.com/apps/pbcs.d ll/article?AID=/20060418/METRO /604180318

Erikd
Username: Erikd

Post Number: 583
Posted From: 69.242.214.106
Posted on Wednesday, April 19, 2006 - 3:36 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

quote:

"It's a racist law," Watson said of the state law during a council meeting.

How is the state residency law racist? I like the idea of government workers living where they work, but a law that allows them to reside elsewhere is hardly racist.

JoAnn Watson is so bigoted, she thinks that any opposing viewpoint is racist.

People like JoAnn Watson cripple the movement to combat real racial problems by constantly crying wolf. Judging by her actions, it seems that she is more concerned with grandstanding and fanning the flames fueling the racial divide, and less concerned with fighting for real change and equality.

Lmichigan
Username: Lmichigan

Post Number: 3558
Posted From: 67.172.95.197
Posted on Wednesday, April 19, 2006 - 4:47 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)