Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2006 » Detroit Clothing Business plan « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Davidmausolf
Username: Davidmausolf

Post Number: 1
Posted From: 4.78.130.213
Posted on Monday, April 17, 2006 - 12:11 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I've started to do some thinking on whether or not I could put together a business plan to setup a manufacturing site to produce clothing in Detroit. I've been looking over the Zara and American Apparel business models, and I think I could vertically integrate the system into an existing site in one of the economic development centers.

Right now I'm studying cotton and yarn processing to try and figure out about it, and in May I'm going to stop by a factory called Standard Textile to gain a deeper understanding of the textile production.

I've also looked at the special enterprise zones offered by the Detroit Economic Revitalization Organization and I can actually get my workers wages matched up to $15,000 a year provided they don't fall under one of the categories not listed under IRS form 8844, I can also get almost all of my taxes waived.

Now that I've got all the jargon at of the way I'll try to explain my vision. The idea is that I want to employ people in Detroit and want to pay them decent wages of $12 an hour and up to $20 an hour, and my thinking is by vertically integrating the entire process I can do this. I also want to integrate long term cost reducing methods to the manufacturing site such as a "living roof" this is the same thing used on the new Dearborn Rouge Plant that reduces energy costs.