Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2006 » Urban Planning Grad Schools « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Arc312
Username: Arc312

Post Number: 1
Posted From: 35.11.161.238
Posted on Saturday, February 25, 2006 - 3:47 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so this is my first post. I've been reading this website for almost a year.

My question is this. I'm currently a sophomore @ MSU studying Social Relations/Theory, and Im interested in going to Grad School for a masters in urban planning. Can anyone offer any suggestions for good masters programs? I'm really interested in urban design/historical preservation/social activism, and I know that I want to study those issues.

Also, I know that some MUP programs want some sort of UP or Art background, something that I'm not so sure if I have room in my schedule for.

Arc312

Post Number: 2
Posted on Saturday, February 25, 2006 - 3:51 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

PS...I'm well aware of my lack of spelling skills. They're not going to get any better any time soon...

Ltorivia485
Username: Ltorivia485

Post Number: 2369
Posted From: 199.74.87.131
Posted on Saturday, February 25, 2006 - 4:21 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I don't have an art portfolio background myself. I have just taken the necessary urban studies courses and am applying to urban-related internships, such as Smart Growth America.

Check out U.S. News Graduate Rankings of Urban Planning. They are not the "big-name" schools, but it's under my impression that as long as the school is certified by the American Planning Association, they are legit. So, Michigan and Wayne State should be your starting point. University of Illinois at Chicago is another option in the Midwest too. It's all about concentration (I'm leaning toward Economic and Community Development).

Jfried
Username: Jfried

Post Number: 728
Posted From: 69.47.87.96