Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2006 » Lafayette Pavillion Fire « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Bvos
Username: Bvos

Post Number: 1134
Posted From: 70.227.207.200
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:07 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone have info on the Lafayette Pavillion fire the other day? Heard a brief blurb on the news but haven't heard anything lately. Anyone have pics? Know how much damage was caused? It's going to be interesting to see if the management properly restores the historic landmark.

As a former resident I can tell you that the basement was a code hazard heaven. The building as a whole was managed and maintained poorly. It's sad to see a fire in this beautiful building, but not real surprising considering the way the place was ran.

Matt_the_deuce
Username: Matt_the_deuce

Post Number: 408
Posted From: 69.14.27.204
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:24 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I thought it was a water main break, unless I'm confusing this with another incident.

Broken_main
Username: Broken_main

Post Number: 476
Posted From: 198.109.44.2
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:26 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

It was a main break. And the water flooded the basemnet of the Pavillion. Evidently the water shorted the electrical supply and rendered the building powerless until late yesterday afternoon.

Bvos

Post Number: 1136
Posted From: 70.227.207.200
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:33 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I thought there was a fire as well. The elevators are always breaking in that building (yes, all three at the same time) so that wouldn't be news worthy (of course nothing on TV news is news worthy these days).

Broken_main
Username: Broken_main

Post Number: 478
Posted From: 198.109.44.2