Discuss Detroit » DISCUSS DETROIT! » Keep your head up Detroit......a young guys perspective. » Archive through March 18, 2009 « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Doma
Username: Doma

Post Number: 24
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 10:50 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I wanted to share with all of you some of the experiences and lessons I have learned throughout my 27 years in the Detroit Area. This will likely be a long post, but it might be worth reading....

I am 27 years old this week.

My parents are lifelong residents of the area.

I graduated from high school in the year 2000.

I grew up from child to adolescent to man in the 90's. My family was into Real Estate and living in Macomb County. In those day I was brought up in a world where 250-300k homes literally couldn't be built fast enough and that somehow there was an endless amount of high paying, low skill jobs available as soon as a person was to graduate at 18.

That was, up until I actually needed to work......

Peak employment was reached in the month of June 2000, the same month I graduated.

Around this time, the rate was as low as 3.7%. If you didn't have a job at these times, it was probably your fault. At that time, a teenager could easily get a summer gig paying 11-14$ or more per hour with very little effort.

So what?

Well...

What I realized is that in my adult life I have never experienced a truly "healthy" economy. An economy where job growth has existed (at almost any) particular period.

I didn't attend college, instead my education has been obtained by doing business in the real world.

So what might one learn by taking this route?

I have managed to make a SUBSTANTIAL LIVING in MEDIOCRE to BAD times.

Recession has taught me how to SAVE money, how to BUILD CREDIT and how to DELAY INSTANT GRATIFICATION.