Discuss Detroit » DISCUSS DETROIT! » DetroitYES Research « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Dirtyrat
Username: Dirtyrat

Post Number: 1
Posted on Wednesday, March 04, 2009 - 4:00 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My name is Joshua Atkinson and I am an assistant professor in the School of Communication Studies at Bowling Green State University. I am working with Dr. Clayton Rosati (also of BGSU) on a research project concerning the DetroitYES! web community. In particular, we are interested in the way in which the users of the DetroitYES! discussion forum construct an “alternative cityscape” through their online and offline interactions. Oftentimes, the “cityscapes” that people collectively recognize are constructed through imagery and representation found in popular mass media. Some cityscapes have been constructed as glamorous and exciting, as in the cases of New York and San Francisco. In the economic climate that has existed for the past thirty (or more) years, however, many cities and communities have been adversely depicted in terms of job loss, decreasing population, and high crime: St. Louis, Cleveland, and Detroit. Such depictions have become the negative imagery that is often used by economic and cultural elites to construct “cityscapes” that become collectively recognized as deteriorating and unsafe.

Interestingly, we have found that the Fabulous Ruins of Detroit and the attached discussion forum seem to provide Detroit residents with the opportunity to share information, and imagery, in a way that allows for the emergence of an alternative cityscape. We feel that your web community can provide valuable insight about how average citizens can use the Internet and other forms of interactive media to bypass economic and cultural elites, and effectively shape their cities and communities on their own.