Discuss Detroit » Archives - March 2009 » Advice for an intern in Detroit « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Tielerh11
Username: Tielerh11

Post Number: 22
Posted on Monday, February 23, 2009 - 7:52 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow... it feels like it's been years since I've posted on here. Don't worry though... I have filled the time between posts with plenty of lurking.

I am writing to ask for some advice. I have taken an internship in Detroit this summer that I am VERY excited about, and will be working on the westside. I am a student at U-M and I have a lease in Ann Arbor that runs until August. So, while it seems all too practical for me to live here and commute to Detroit everyday, but it just doesn't sound fun. I would really love to LIVE in the City, get to bar hop in the City, do my summer runs around the City etc..

I have done SOME searching of Detroit short-term leases, but I'm not finding anything substantial. I thought I high the jackpot when I found loftplace.com, but searching these boards revealed that the general opinion of the landlord of those properties is pretty bad.

I was wondering if anyone had advice about some places to look for affordable short-term leases. I know I am asking a lot, but really, I can only afford to spend about 700 a month. Off-street parking is important to me because I have a relatively nice car, nothing fancy, but I'd like to avoid the hassle of a break-in during the summer. I would also like to be somewhat close to good nightlife. I was thinking maybe Hamtramck? Also, the area around WSU... but I was worried about the parking situation. I don't know, I don't know.

If anyone has any pointers I would really, really appreciated it! Thanks!

Detroitej72
Username: Detroitej72

Post Number: 1243
Posted on Monday, February 23, 2009 - 8:09 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)