Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2008 » For everyone complaining about DPS and Detroit kids « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Jt1
Username: Jt1

Post Number: 12095
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 1:14 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

http://www.freep.com/apps/pbcs .dll/article?AID=2008808190323

Here is your opportunity to help a great kid. I suggest as opposed to complaining abuot how horribel Detroit has become you put your money were your mouth is and offer help.

I recommend that you contact the author and ask where to send donations as opposed to complaining and criticizing.

English
Username: English

Post Number: 787
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 1:57 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for this. I warrant you will get very few responses, Jt1. I made similar appeals 4-5 years ago on this site when I was a DPS teacher.

(A few forumers did actually step up, but they weren't the ones doing the most slandering.)

I am currently mentoring through my church, but next year plan to "kick it up a notch". As a former Girl Scout (and GSUSA Silver Award recipient) I'd love to be a troop leader sometime soon. I just need to do the training...

Jt1

Post Number: 12096
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 2:02 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

quote:

(A few forumers did actually step up, but they weren't the ones doing the most slandering.)

That was my poorly worded point. The people that care are already doing great things. It is the people that complain and condemn that should help the parents supply such a great, potentially life changing opportunity to this child.

It sounds like the parents are willing to take out a loan on their home which just is another indicator that they are involved in her education and are definitely doing their part as parents.

Detroitteacher
Username: Detroitteacher

Post Number: 1353