Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2008 » What's the value of a degree anymore? « Previous Next »
Archive through August 09, 2008Warriorfan30 08-09-08  8:04 pm
Archive through August 10, 2008Lilpup30 08-10-08  7:34 pm
  ClosedNew threads cannot be started on this page. The threads above are previous posts made to this thread.        

Top of pageBottom of page

Youngprofessionaldetroiter
Username: Youngprofessionaldetroiter

Post Number: 145
Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 7:36 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lilpup...I graduated in the environment of 4% tax-deductible student loans. 20 years ago, I'd bet the interest rates were twice as high. But yes. $189 gets automatically deducted from checking account on the 15th. Good times :-)

Lilpup
Username: Lilpup

Post Number: 4831
Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 7:46 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

English, what do you think the response would be if you stood in front of a roomful of laid off engineers and said that?

Some degrees are more restricted than others...

(just found out my cousin's out of Ford as of last week)

(Message edited by lilpup on August 10, 2008)

English
Username: English

Post Number: 782
Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 8:01 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sorry, Lilpup, I erased my post without seeing your response.

Actually? I'm going to say something VERY controversial and elitist. My dissertation focuses on teachers. The #1 issue in education is the quality of the teaching force. We CANNOT continue to draw our teaching force from the bottom 1/3 of university classes and expect our students to compete in the 21st century. We cannot afford to have well-meaning, yet intellectually average people, teaching our students any longer.

This is not radical. Teach for America was founded on similar principles:
http://www.teachforamerica.org /