Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2008 » 4th Street Fair « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Tonyt
Username: Tonyt

Post Number: 55
Posted on Friday, June 20, 2008 - 11:18 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hey, i'm new to living on 4th street, but I work Saturday mornings when the fair planning meetings are held.

Just wondering if there's a date figured out for this years fair. I have to give my work some kind of advanced notice (usually 3 weeks).

I just want to know when the fair is, not if you hate 4th street, etc.

Evelyn
Username: Evelyn

Post Number: 315
Posted on Friday, June 20, 2008 - 11:25 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Always a Saturday in July... think it's the 19th this year.

Detroitnerd
Username: Detroitnerd

Post Number: 2545
Posted on Friday, June 20, 2008 - 11:27 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I heard it's "canceled." The city wanted too much sugar.

However, I wouldn't be surprised if you saw the residents of Fourth Street just happening to have a party on that day. ;)

Tonyt

Post Number: 57
Posted on Friday, June 20, 2008 - 11:42 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

See, I heard something along the lines of that too.

Something about the health department and food service or some crap.

Yeah, I'm down with a more traditional block party. Neighbors and their friends getting together sharing food and drinks. It's been pretty out of hand the last few years (fun, but pretty big for sure!)

Evelyn
Username: Evelyn

Post Number: 316
Posted on Friday, June 20, 2008 - 12:03 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cancelled? Boo! But it was getting really big the last couple years, and I wondered how the city kept turning a blind eye to it.

Django
Username: Django

Post Number: 1068
Posted on Friday, June 20, 2008 - 12:50 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)