Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » Detroit Project « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Chrisjo_chrisjo
Username: Chrisjo_chrisjo

Post Number: 1
Posted on Wednesday, May 07, 2008 - 3:57 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello to everyone!

I am new to this forum. I am currently studying Documentary Photography at the
University of Applied Sciences and Arts. I am
planing to shoot an essay about the city of Detroit for my final year project.
I have read and researched a lot about Detroit. during my research I, of course, got to know the problems of the city and its residents. I do not want to focus on the ruins of Detroit only, but on the people living under the current situation.
I am looking for people and stories, to show the current situation: the bad, the good, the new, the old. Perhaps someone who lost his job from the car industry or a community developing interesting projects. People who could tell me something about the mortgage crisis.
Besides my studies, I am working as a freelance photographer for this newspaper, but as I said, this project is my final year project to get my diploma degree. In the first place, it has not the purpose to be published.
My credo in journalism is working on subjects, which have hardly any chance in the daily run of headlines - journalistic orphans. I try to tell stories about people and their daily lives.

I am very glad for every help or support.

Thank you very much!

chris

Retroit
Username: Retroit

Post Number: 71
Posted on Wednesday, May 07, 2008 - 7:19 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Chrisjo,

You've given yourself an awfully broad range of potential subjects. All 900,000 Detroiters could give you stories of the types listed. Have you thought about narrowing down your topic?

Spacemonkey
Username: Spacemonkey

Post Number: 556
Posted on Wednesday, May 07, 2008 - 7:23 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)