Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2007 » 3-D Dinosaur Days « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Tponetom
Username: Tponetom

Post Number: 64
Posted on Monday, July 16, 2007 - 7:33 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

3-D. Dinosaur Days, 1942-43 Racism?

I have to preface this story with some qualifications of the vernacular that we used in those days.
The words, "Black" and "African" were pejorative adjectives that were used by the racist in
phrases, i.e. “Those Black @#$%^& or those African @#$%^&. The words, “Colored” or
“Negro,” were considered to be politically acceptable. I am not sure what that meant to either
race.
I was a freshman at St. Joe's High School. I was a member of our somewhat pathetic
freshmen basketball team. There were only six members on that team. Our only practice routine
was a 3 on 3 scrimmage. At the start of the second week, our coach, Brother Barnabus, told us
that we were going to scrimmage the Miller High School freshmen team. We were excited.
Wow, we were going to face a real team!
Miller was the ‘all colored’ school in the Public School System. It was located on
McDougall street, east of Gratiot, about 10 or 12 blocks from St. Joe’s. Carrying our duffel bags,
we walked down Jay street with nary a care. We got to Miller and the teams coach was waiting
for us and he took us to the gym. His team of about 15 kids were warming up. Players on both
sides were all upbeat.
Keep in mind that high school basketball in those days was a non-contact sport. Touch
your opponent and your whistled for a foul. Changing hands while dribbling, dribbling behind
your back or under your leg, your called for a double dribble. Palming or rolling the ball in your
hand
and you are called for traveling. Charging or blocking was always a contentious call, but if you
became belligerent you were ejected from the game.
An hour and a half later we were happy that Miller did not hand us our heads in the