Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2007 » The longest commuter? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Tponetom
Username: Tponetom

Post Number: 17
Posted on Thursday, June 28, 2007 - 8:11 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

From the years 1974 through 1987, I used to commute to Detroit, to work. Not daily, mind you, but usually, bi-weekly. We were building our retirement home in the Upper Peninsula. We used Rapid River, MI. as our mailing address but we lived 14 miles northeast of that small town. It was 440 miles from Detroit. I was a union plumber (Local 98) working at various venues in and around Detroit. My schedule was something like this. I would leave home at midnight, Sunday, and get to the job site around 7:30 a.m. on Monday morning. I would work two weeks and then head for home on Friday afternoon and would arrive there around midnight. I would sleep a little bit and then work on the house all day Saturday and Sunday. I would grab a few hours sleep in the early evening, on Sunday, and then repeat that schedule. Of course there were many periods of no employment but our life style had evolved to an old philosophers pronouncement. "Show me what I am missing, and I will show you how to get along without it."
Digression: In 1973, the oil embargo caused the price of gasoline to soar to 80 cents a gallon, but we weathered that storm.
All of our dreams came to fruition.
I have only recently entered into this Forum. I have read at least five hundred postings on different issues. I do not read very much despair in those postings, but more often, I read indecision in a lot of them. People reaching out for advice, frustration, some times complacency and others who are perfectly satisfied, doing what they are doing, and that is great.