Discuss Detroit » DETROIT CONNECTIONS » Need Picture Alteration Help « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Vivadetroit
Username: Vivadetroit

Post Number: 186
Posted on Thursday, March 12, 2009 - 9:04 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Does anyone know how to convert low res pictures into high res? Is it possible to improve the resolution? Or do I need to take the picture all over again? Thanks!

Lugotown
Username: Lugotown

Post Number: 73
Posted on Thursday, March 12, 2009 - 9:30 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i'm not an expert but i remember having this same problem. thought i was a smart cookie when i first got a digital camera and changed the resolution so i could take lots of pictures. lol
well, they were a bunch of junk and i couldn't improve them. i was told that you can only reduce, not increase. boo

Raj313
Username: Raj313

Post Number: 74
Posted on Thursday, March 12, 2009 - 10:31 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You can easily go from large to small but small to large wont really improve your image.

Jimaz
Username: Jimaz

Post Number: 6790
Posted on Thursday, March 12, 2009 - 11:01 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If the raw data is low resolution there's no way you could make it high resolution without introducing errors. If the raw data is high resolution and only being rendered as low resolution, you might be able to alter the way it's rendered to display the full recorded resolution.

An example of the latter is how some YouTube videos can now be displayed in a higher resolution by appending "&fmt=18" to their URLs. It doesn't increase the resolution of the raw data. It just allows the full resolution of the raw data to be displayed.

Mikeg
Username: Mikeg

Post Number: 2262
Posted on Friday, March 13, 2009 - 1:56 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)